[Pil-pc-oceania] Does anyone have a comment on this?
permaculture at apollobay.org.au
permaculture at apollobay.org.au
Tue Jan 22 13:33:21 EST 2008
Some comments/ thoughts:
Is china under the Madrid protocol for International trademarks?
Trademarking "Permaculture" would be like trying to trademark
"Architecture"... not possible under our trademark laws and the Madrid
protocol, but China may not abide by this and it may be possible to
trademark under their national trademark regulations.
>From what I can understand from the email, the domain name registration
organisation is wanting to check that they won't get into any legal trouble
by registering a Chinese domain name eg. www.permaculture.biz.cn
But really, if China doesn't have regulations in their country that
prevents entities from registering a domain name if they don't have
anything to do with the name, then what can be done about it? [Australia
has regulations for Australian domain names]
Perhaps it is a scam from this registration company to register more
chinese domain names? Or perhaps it is a legitimate inquiry into your
proprietary rights.
Have you trademarked permaculture.biz darren? And here we get hairy... the
consequence of permaculture going permaculture going mainstream?!
On 22/1/08 5:40 AM, "Darren Doherty" <darren at permaculture.biz> wrote:
>
>
> ---------- Forwarded message ----------
> From: Eros Chen <eros at sh-net.net.cn>
> Date: 20 Jan 2008 22:36
> Subject: Domain name of
> To: darren <darren at permaculture.biz>
>
>
> Dear CEO,
>
> We are the domain name registration organization in China,which mainly
deal
> with international company's in china.We have something important need to
> confirm with your company.For now Saqi company apply to
> register"permaculture"as
> Internet brand name and Chinese domain name, which involve internet
> intellectual property right of your company.We hope to get the affirmation
> of your company.If there is any question, please let someone in your
company
> who is responsible for trademark or Intellectual property right contact us
> freely ASAP, the best way, pls telephone us directly.
>
>
> Kind regards,
>
> Eros Chen
>
>
----------------------------------------------------------------------------
-
>
> ShangHai NET
> TEL:0086-2151750312 ext 0320
> FAX:0086-2151750301
> Skype:beyound.chen
> Website: http://www.sh-net.net.cn
> Mail: eros at sh-net.net.cn
>
>
>
--
Pathways to sustainability through
Accredited Permaculture Training
Certificates III & IV and Diploma of Permaculture
Erda Institute Inc
Robyn Francis
International permaculture design and sustainability consultant, educator &
facilitator
Djanbung Gardens
Permaculture Education Centre & Demonstration Farm
PO Box 379 Nimbin NSW 2480
02-6689 1755 / 0429 147 138
www.permaculture.com.au
--------------------------------------------------------------------
mail2web.com - Microsoft® Exchange solutions from a leading provider -
http://link.mail2web.com/Business/Exchange
More information about the Pil-pc-oceania
mailing list