[Pil-pc-oceania] Does anyone have a comment on this?

Robyn Francis robyn at permaculture.com.au
Tue Jan 22 15:12:58 EST 2008


To get the URL name permaculture.com.au when the generic web names were
released I had to prove that permaculture was the central activity of my
business.
Any attempts to trademark the name have failed.

robyn


On 22/1/08 2:33 PM, "permaculture at apollobay.org.au"
<permaculture at apollobay.org.au> wrote:

> Some comments/ thoughts:
> Is china under the Madrid protocol for International trademarks?
> Trademarking "Permaculture" would be like trying to trademark
> "Architecture"... not possible under our trademark laws and the Madrid
> protocol, but China may not abide by this and it may be possible to
> trademark under their national trademark regulations.
> 
>> From what I can understand from the email, the domain name registration
> organisation is wanting to check that they won't get into any legal trouble
> by registering a Chinese domain name eg. www.permaculture.biz.cn
> But really, if China doesn't have regulations in their country that
> prevents entities from registering a domain name if they don't have
> anything to do with the name, then what can be done about it?  [Australia
> has regulations for Australian domain names]
> 
> Perhaps it is a scam from this registration company to register more
> chinese domain names?  Or perhaps it is a legitimate inquiry into your
> proprietary rights.
> Have you trademarked permaculture.biz darren?  And here we get hairy... the
> consequence of permaculture going permaculture going mainstream?!
> 
> 
> 
> 
> On 22/1/08 5:40 AM, "Darren Doherty" <darren at permaculture.biz> wrote:
> 
>> 
>> 
>> ---------- Forwarded message ----------
>> From: Eros Chen <eros at sh-net.net.cn>
>> Date: 20 Jan 2008 22:36
>> Subject: Domain name of
>> To: darren <darren at permaculture.biz>
>> 
>> 
>> Dear CEO,
>> 
>> We are the domain name registration organization in China,which mainly
> deal
>> with international company's in china.We have something important need to
>> confirm with your company.For now Saqi company apply to
>> register"permaculture"as
>> Internet brand name and Chinese domain name, which involve internet
>> intellectual property right of your company.We hope to get the affirmation
>> of your company.If there is any question, please let someone in your
> company
>> who is responsible for trademark or Intellectual property right contact us
>> freely ASAP, the best way, pls telephone us directly.
>> 
>> 
>> Kind regards,
>> 
>> Eros Chen
>> 
>> 
> ----------------------------------------------------------------------------
> -
>> 
>> ShangHai NET
>> TEL:0086-2151750312 ext 0320
>> FAX:0086-2151750301
>> Skype:beyound.chen
>> Website: http://www.sh-net.net.cn
>> Mail:    eros at sh-net.net.cn
>> 
>> 
>> 
> 

-- 
Pathways to sustainability through
Accredited Permaculture Training
Certificates III & IV and Diploma of Permaculture
Erda Institute Inc

Robyn Francis 
International permaculture design and sustainability consultant, educator &
facilitator

Djanbung Gardens 
Permaculture Education Centre & Demonstration Farm
PO Box 379 Nimbin NSW 2480
02-6689 1755  /  0429 147 138
www.permaculture.com.au





More information about the Pil-pc-oceania mailing list